TPO-30: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the recent days, many people are finding most of their time spent on work, leaving them exhausted for most hours and longing for a schedule that would enable more hours dedicated to rest and leisure activities. When it comes to working hours, I think there are many different preferences. Some would rather short hours of office time every day on the weekdays, so they could have a few hours to designate to relaxation, their family and friends or other activities each day. Others might prefer a job requiring them to work long, laborious hours so they could have the rest of the week to themselves. Each of these work habits might be more appropriate for different types of characters, and also for people in different stages of life. For example, if you are a student, you might prefer to work only three days a week, enabling you to schedule your classes and studies on your free days. Whereas if you have a family, especially young children, you might sense the need to attend to their necessities every day, so you might be obligated to choose a schedule which entitles you to several free hours each day to tend to your family. I personally, would prefer to have a job in which I would have to work long hours for three days.

As a person who likes to engage in many leisure activities, such as art classes and volunteer activities, I think this schedule is more fitting. Working every day will leave you fatigued after words, draining your vigor and leaving you with the need to rest for the remaining hours. So realistically, you will have no actual time to tend to other activities. Moreover, many classes and activities are schedules in a way that they coincide with work hours, leaving you with a limited choice of events you can carry out on your free time. So for persons who desire to be enrolled in a range of artistic, academic, volunteer and social activities, I think a schedule which leaves you with more free days during the week is better suited.

Also, in a job where you only have to work three days, you can plan for a vacation much easier. Having extra free days during a week can eliminate the process of asking the superiors for permitted leave or having to work extra hours, when you are agreed to taking several days off. Thus, you are faced with more choices and better opportunities for long vacations. Also, you can freely schedule your short trips during the week in a way that permits you to get home in time to rest, freshen up, attend overdue undertakings and be ready for work in time. By and large, people who love to travel may find this schedule more beneficial to their desires.

In general, I think various people, in different stages of life, may find one of the either work schedules, three days of long hours in contrast to working five days with shorter hours, more preferable. But I think younger, more active employees who are not bound by family obligations can better benefit from a schedule that entitles them to more free days during the week.