TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

There have always been heated discussions on whether people should work three days a week for long hours. Some might contend that it is better to work for longer hours and fewer days because people can have more time to manage and to relax. However, I would like to say that working for five days per week with shorter hours are more enjoyable in terms of stress, pressure and the quality of work.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that nowadays many works, both inside and outside office, can be quite laborious. Though working for longs hours and fewer days seems to give people more time to get away from work, it actually put them under much stress and pressure, so their health can be undermined in the long run. For instance, many tasks today are accomplished on computers, and sitting in front of the desk and staring at the screen for long time can have adverse effects on people's eye-sight and cause severe discomfort in back, which can be a problem years later. Drivers, as another example, are not expected to work continuously for long hours, in order to prevent them from fatigue and distraction.

Secondly, working too long may make people get bored in what they are doing, which in turn affects the quality of their work. Typically, in jobs that require precision and concentration, like accountants or doctors, workers must pay full attention during their work, which can be exhausting. Thus, it is not uncommon for people in these fields to get bored and tired after a day's work. And if they work for even longer hours a day, the quality of their work will definitely drop, causing damages to employees' benefits. Thus, working three days a week for long hours is also detrimental to employees.

Admittedly, there are justifications by those who argue that by working three days a week, people can spare four days to do other things and be better prepared for a new week. Nonetheless, I still affirm that working five days a week is more plausible. People can have enough to make and have dinner together with the rest of their families, instead of spending that time alone in the office, for instance.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that people should not work for long hours and only three days a week, and stress, pressure and lower quality of work are two prime and conspicuous reasons.