TPO-31: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At all times, there has been the known controversy that are people happier and more satisfied now compared to the past? And in every era, there have been the grandparents who would tell stories of the better days in the past, when people were more compassionate, loving and all round happier, causing the younger generation to wish they could live in those golden days. But this controversy has reached its peak in the present age. More and more people are left unsatisfied in the modern days of technology and overwhelming information, when compared to the past. I think there many different aspects of today’s age which has led to this universal sense of unhappiness, some of which are described shortly below.

The era we live in is the time of ever changing technologies, fashion styles and intriguing, yet unnecessary products. All this has led to a greedy materialistic demand in people, especially the younger generation. Today’s highest price cell phones and laptops are tomorrow’s outdates toys. This month’s most lavish textiles and clothing are out of fashion in a blink of an eye. All this changing fashions and developing technologies, constantly underscored through the media, has left the consumers with a constant feel of dissatisfaction with their current belonging. Thus, the average working man/woman must put in extra hours to meet the materialistic demands he/she faces, cutting from the hours intended for rest and vacation. This growing feel of wanting has deprived the people of these modern days of the sense of fulfilment and happiness.

Another reason for higher displeasure in people of the present can be related to the high amount of information, mainly bad news, being spread throughout the world via new broadcasts and social networks. Today’s people are more involved with every small happening that takes place in near or far parts of our world. Being exposed to such high amount of information, especially devastating news of death, war and terrorism, can lead to anxiety and despair in many people. One might find it difficult to live in joy and appreciation when there is a child endangered by war many miles away. All these horrid news swirling around a person’s mind can cause fear and depression, adding to an ever growing sense of dissatisfaction.

Although some might argue that this sense of displeasure with the era one lives in is a universal characteristic of people of all times, I believe living in the days of growing materialistic needs, developing technologies and constant exposure to dreadful news from all parts of the world has led to people of our time to be less happy and satisfied with life as it is.