TPO 35- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Celebrities are usually surrounded by sheer numbers of interviewers and their fans. It seems like they will never have the opportunity to enjoy a normal, private life. But is it not what they desired in the first step? Do they deserve to have more privacy? There are compelling ideas on both sides of the argument. I personally subscribe to the view that the privacy they have is just enough.

To begin with, I believe that altruism does not exist; whatever a person does or achieves during his lifespan - be it acquiring highest level of education, getting a decent job as a celebrity, or even helping the poor - is due to some kind of self-interest since the most kind-hearted deeds are done at least to give a person a sense of inner happiness. Accordingly, I am of the opinion that athletes and entertainers, in addition to bringing honor and happiness to society, have the propensity to become famous. This is what they wanted in the first step and they need to get on with it when they achieve it.

Moreover, celebrities' lives are sources of inspiration for many. Having read entertainers' and athletes' life stories and seeing the hardships they have gone through, their fans will become motivated to lead a successful life despite all its difficulties. For example, Charlie Chaplin - the renowned comedian, had a harsh lifestyle, but always pretended to be happy. A letter he had written to his beloved daughter that was disclosed later gives us an insight of how deep a person he had been, even though he was always playing funny and superficial roles in movies. This example illustrates that we will benefit from knowing celebrities lives. Were we deprived of this important document, we would never know how a dejected person can be successful in bringing happiness to thousands of houses.

However, there is another side to the debate. As humans, we all have the right to have privacy. Sometimes we need some moments of privacy for ourselves without any distraction, or we do not want anyone to be informed of our most secret relationships. Nevertheless, I believe that if one really seeks for privacy, he can ensure it in numerous ways. For instance, it is highly unlikely for peoples' privacy to be intruded when one is at his house.

Having considered all the above arguments, I believed that famous people should not be given privacy since they do not want it and many people benefit from reading about the celebrities lives.