TPO-40

There are many approaches when it comes to encouraging children to excel in school, each with a controversial set of pros and cons. One if the major ideas in this regard is awarding children with gifts or money for each good grade they get in school. Although there are many that think this method can persuade children to study more intently and try to exceed, I, on the contrary, disagree with this method for many reasons, some of which are enlisted below.

Firstly, I think the idea of being treated with gifts and especially money for good grades can lead to the materialization of education and school for children. School should about learning the value of education, exploring ones talents and interests and helping children peruse a major which they are interested in and can lead to they're desired future. By offering money in return for good grades, we are demeaning the true value of knowledge for them. Also, the process might become a habit, thus effecting their future. If a child is constantly awarded with money for grades, he/she might draw definite lines between education and materialistic wealth, which can in turn impact the university major and career decisions he/she might make; leading to an unhealthy interest in well-paid careers, and majors leading to those careers and no acknowledgement for other fields.

Another disadvantage to this approach can be the psychological effect it might have on children. Being awarded with money for good grades can lead to an unhealthy competition between classmates and siblings, which can in turn lead to anxiety problems. If a child constantly witnesses a sibling or classmate be rewarded for grades, he/she might become obsessed with trying to excel in school and competing for better grades and in turn rewards. This can lead to anxiety, especially in younger children. It can also cause a child who is constantly trying to improve grades for the prize to become discouraged and resentful towards school and education.

All the mentioned point aside, I think children should be acknowledge for their hard work leading to a high grade, as long as it does not become a habit. With that said, I feel that it is better that the child is not rewarded with money directly, but certain gifts he/she has desired or perhaps an activity or trip of interest to the child. Although, it should be kept in mind that this should not become a habit and that the child knows the true prize is the high grade and sense of self-competence.

In the end, I think children should be acknowledged for their endeavors in school but I do not agree with rewarding them with money and material gifts, as they might divert the child's attention from what is truly of value: good education.