TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Tpo40

There is no doubt that nowadays, parents encourage their school aged children by giving them prizes such as money. No one can deny the influence of giving support by parents. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this statement is that, is it a good idea that parents offer money to their children for getting high grades at school?

From my perspective, it is not good at all and it has many disadvantages. To substantiate my case, the following paragraphs represents conspicuous reasons to elaborate my preference.

One of the reasons coming to my mind is that, this idea will spoil children. Recent researches by psychologists show that spoiling children can make them unuseful for society and they always have problem in dealing with their problems. These kind of children always rely on their parents assistance therefore, when it comes to face to difficulties in their future lives, they will find it sophisticated. For instance, Albert Einstein, a well known scientist, was not spoiled by his mother at all. He mentioned in his biography that his mother was always telling him that you have to get high scores only for your prosperity.

Moreover, children should raise their self-confidence to become successful in their future jobs and personal lives. But by doing this idea they could not be. When parents do these kind of activities, they make their children’s personality weak and breakable. For example, when children grow in this way, they learn to expect everyone to give them prizes by doing their tasks and when this does not happen in his work place, they will break inside. Therefore, they will be annoyed by their bosses or supervisors.

Finally, most of children do not know what should they do with huge amount of money they are given and some of them spend it in a bad way. For instance, some school students buy drugs from their friends at school. In fact, high school students tend to do dangerous thing because mainly they enjoy experience excitement like this. So, parents can give them other kinds of prizes instead of money such as books. Therefore, they can extend their knowledge indifferent fields like history,art and science.

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I strongly believe that this is not high-minded thought that parents should give their children money when they take high grades. Encouraging children by money not only is beneficial for them but also makes them inefficient.