TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, giving the children money for their superior academic achievement would not be beneficial for them in the long run. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will illustrate in the following essay.

First of all, children in the age of students age should learn how to have their own motivation. Otherwise, they would lose their passion about education when they do not need money from families anymore. They could work and have the financially independent. Therefore, offering money is not a guarantee to maintain the children's intensive for education. In fact, this attitude would teach them to be materialistic individuals. For example, my cousin was a smart kid and he could achieve high grades in his middle school. However, his parents were giving him money as a reward consistently. Unfortunately, when he turned into sixteen years of age he got a job at a local restaurant to earn his money. He focused on collecting money and dropped his school. He thought that money was the goal in this life instead of studying and having a high academic position. I think his parents should guide him to know that there are other meanings in life beyond money.

Secondly, giving money to children for each high mark would make them spoiled. They would raise their demands and they might not accept any excuse from their parents if they could not have the money. Some parents may suffer from poor conditions, so we should learn our kids that their success would be their own glory, and they do not need money to keep on academic successful track. Otherwise, children would be selfish, if parents did not give them the money that they were looking at.

To sum up, I strongly believe that parents should not reward their children studying with money. That is because should their own motives. In addition, they might make them selfish if they took this reward as an obligation from their parents, regardless of the parents' poor conditions.