TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Keeping the workers satisfied through the workday is of paramount importance for the employers, since it will greatly affect their performance during working hours. A question which is a matter of debate is whether workers should be assigned with different types of tasks during the workday or they should do a similar task all day long. There are merits and demerits for both of the suggestion. However, I am of the conviction that doing similar task during the workday will keep the workers more satisfied. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint in order to elucidate my perspective.

First compelling reason for my mentioned thesis is that doing similar task for many times, the workers will master the assigned task and it will significantly decrease the human error in production. Furthermore, when a worker master a task, his/her speed in doing that task will increase noticeably. As an illustration, a worker who has completed a task millions of times, without any dispute will do that task with much less error and much faster than a worker who has just started to complete the task. As it is said, practice makes perfect. It is established beyond doubt that doing a task with few errors and in very short time will give the workers self-confidence.

Secondly, learning a new task is always challenging, and being forced to do that every day will effectively decrease the motivation of workers. For instance, imagine a worker who has to learn multiple tasks everyday he goes to work and just the time he is about to get specialized in a task he has to go on to a new one. The latter especially will have a negative effect on older workers. It is indisputable that as the age goes up, people will lose their appetite for learning new tasks.

In winding up the discussion on this moot point, contemplating the aforementioned discussions, one can easily surmise that assigning different types of tasks to workers may negatively affect their sense of satisfaction. Nevertheless, that was a story in a nutshell, there are many more details worth discussing which are not mentioned here. However, taken together, I am one of the proponents who cites a clear bias in favor of assigning similar tasks to workers, since they can master the task and it will increase their self-confidence. Furthermore, learning variety of new tasks is always challenging for them.