TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one could deny that there is an increasing importance in the approaches to improving the productivity and efficiency of companies due to the rapid growth of the economy and society. Some people believe that the workers are more concentrated and satisfied when they do similar jobs all time. However, I am not an advocate of that view since I think that varied tasks can not only improve the satisfaction of employees but also spur them on better performance.

Firstly, long-term constant work would make it easier for workers to be distracted. The employees will be tired of doing the same things, saying the same words, or even wearing the same clothes every day, and thus lack enough enthusiasm and get distracted easily. Routine works seem boring after some time. Instead, the varied tasks can spur them to learn new things and to apply the new skills into other works, which means they might experience new things and challenges almost every day, making life more colorful. Hence, they will concentrate wholly to what they are doing and about to do, which, in turn, obviously give them sense of fulfillment and achievement, thus leading to an improvement of satisfaction.

Furthermore, in this competitive world, versatile development of the employees is an essential foundation for future career satisfaction. Varied tasks enable the workers to acquire a large amount of knowledge from different domains and contributes to their versatile growth, in which way more creative idea would come into mind. If we keep focusing on the same work all the time, we tend to stop our brain storm process and eventually cannot develop new ideas about the task, which apparently constrain their satisfaction. This environment may cultivate a similar way of thinking among the workers, which means they cannot think out of box, thus stifling their creativity. For instance, Steven Jobs, an iconoclastic entrepreneur, has followed his intuition and studied a calligraphy course when he dropped out the Reed College. Yet it is this seemingly unpractical task that revolutionize personal computer industry and provide the customers with multiple and beautiful fonts and typefaces. If Jobs kept just focusing on computer theories, he may not be able to achieve this accomplishment.

In conclusion, just as the argument I mentioned above, in order to improve the satisfaction of employees and create a more passionate work environment, the employer need to encourage them to finish varied tasks and experience different works.