TPO-43: Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A teacher, lecturer or meeting leader presenting a speech or carrying out a class is usually under extreme scrutiny from the students or meeting members for the content and accuracy of their statements. Given this point, what would be the correct course of action if someone were to notice a false fact presented by speaker in the course of a class or meeting? There are many different interactions rising from different personals; some might prefer to stay silent and dismiss the incorrect point, taking note of the accurate point for themselves; others might feel the responsibility to correct the mistake either immediately during the class, or mention it discretely to the teacher or leader afterwords. Each of there actions can be followed by a set of advantages and disadvantages, and each one might be the most appropriate course of action depending on a specific situation. I, personally, believe it is crucial that the mistake be corrected, either right away or after the class or meeting has come to an end. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will briefly address some of the reasons for my viewpoint of this matter.

The impacts of a erroneous fact presented to students of a class or members of a meeting are evidently significant. For instance, if a meeting speaker presents a false point that would the premise of a major project in the future, it goes without doubt that this tiny mistake could have detrimental effects for the project, resulting in lost revenues and major failure. Or if a mistake is made during a university lecture, students could be mislead in that particular topic. Pertain to this, I believe it is quite necessary that a mistake be corrected in order to prevent further confusion, misguidance or wrong decisions made based on the erroneous fact.

But is it really appropriate to interrupt the presenter during a class or meeting and point out the false fact? I believe the suited action in this regard varies depending on the situation or the overall personality of the teacher or leader. Albeit, in most cases I have experienced that it is best to wait after the class or meeting and discuss the misunderstanding privately with the speaker. This is evident that many lecturers take significant pride in their presentation, thus causing them to guard if a mistake was pointed out. By pointing out the false point in the course of the lecture, the speaker might feel disrespected and react adversely. Moreover, there is always the chance the we might be mistaken on our assumption. under that condition, stating a false point we believe is right might result in a humiliated situation in front of colleagues or classmates.

Nevertheless, it should be stated that if the situation is not hostile and the lecturer has a friendly interaction with students or meeting members, correcting the mistake in the course of the class or meeting could result in a interactive discussion among different members. Many benefits rise from free debates as people are introduced to various viewpoints and learn to open their minds to different intakes on a certain manner. Generally, it can be said that it might be ideal to point out the mistake during the class, but the situation might not always be appropriate and in many cases, the lecturer might feel offended and dismiss the point stated, even if it correct.

To sum up, the situation presented can be quite tricky as many students or members might have ambivalent thoughts on what might be accurate course of action. In my opinion, I believe in is quite mandatory that the mistake be pointed out as a false point might be ensued by further mistakes with significant impacts.