TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

Involving in a class or meeting, someone may make a mistake or say something incorrectly. In this situation, different people may have various reactions. Personally, I interrupt the teacher or the leader and correct his/her mistake at the moment. I do this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, by stopping the teacher and correct the fault, other participants can understand that mistake, and this can prevent other's miss-understanding. To explain more, it is important that how people encounter problems for the first time and this learning will be confirmed in their mind. For example, if you teach a primary school that two add two will be five, it will be very difficult for him to accept that it is not correct later. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, my math teacher taught us something wrong about the "Integrals" concept, which was a serious function in mathematics. We learned it incorrectly and after I started my university, most of our lessons required to know the "Integral' concept. While I did not understand it exactly, I could not learn other course materials. If one of my classmates had understood the teacher's mistake and had corrected it, I would have done better at the university.

Secondly, the teacher understands that he/she has to gain more knowledge about the presentation, so it is advantageous for him/her. To clarify my point, when the teacher or leader believes that there may be someone who can understand his mistakes, he will do his best to gain knowledge to prevent this error for the next session. Therefore, in this way, he can develop his various skills and be more knowledgeable. For instance, in my last example, the year after I graduated high school, finally my teacher believed that he was making a mistake about the concept and he fixed it after a while.

In conclusion, in the situation that my teacher makes a mistake, I will speak about it at the moment. I do this way because this can prevent other participants' miss-understanding and encourage the teacher to study more for the next session.