TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

It is not uncommon that students or employees, in today’s society, are brave enough to doubt the teachers and leaders or to lead to a fierce discussion. Some people believe that correcting the mistakes right away is unreasonable since it would disturb both the classroom and meetings’ discipline and the speakers’ plans. Nevertheless, in my view, immediate correction in a class or meeting can be beneficial to both speakers and listeners.

First and foremost, raising questions and correcting mistakes in class are beneficial to the students’ understanding and discerning of the knowledge. On one hand, in some cases, what teachers utter disorients and confuses many students. If we ignore these questions, it would be a waste of time to reconsider and ask teachers later and make it harder for students to get in tune with teachers in the rest of class in the meantime. Instead, if we interrupt the teacher immediately, not only can we find out whether the teacher made a mistake, but the teacher can help us reinforce the knowledge and better understand the confusing point. On the other hand, some of the problems are misstatements. Avid students who have a good command of knowledge can be aware of the mistakes and correct them by themselves while the other students who are comparatively less prominent may not. Therefore, interrupting and correcting mistakes in class can be considered as a significant way to boost the students’ study efficiency.

Moreover, it is universally acknowledged that meetings will serve the best function with the positive interaction between the employees and their managers. Immediate correction is an essential reflection of this kind of interaction, which can contribute to bringing the abilities and wisdom together. As for employees, survey results have revealed that employee involvement in the meeting and their desires to express themselves are appropriate to their career prospects, indicating that not expressing disagreement in the meeting definitely enjoys no merit. As for employers, nowadays we can see increasing welcome to the corrections and differing ideas among managers. In this way, the managers can find out the involvement of their workers and stimulate creativity, preventing employees from being embarrassed from raising questions. If the managers behave like their business opponents on today’s typical television talk show, manifesting themselves in meaningless rhetorical bouts and shouting matches, during which opponents vie to have their own message heard but have little interest in acknowledging the merits of others viewpoints, the company cannot be able to obtain a sustainable and healthy growth.

Finally, instead of ruining the discipline and speakers’ thinking plans, the immediate interruption and correction is an essential indication of enthusiasm and passion of listeners, which can help create a more vibrant atmosphere. It does not matter whether the speaker made a mistake since listeners under is situation are no longer treated as passive receptacles of predigested ideas but creators of new thoughts. Obviously, this kind of contribution cannot be realized by remaining silent or asking after classes or meetings. That is why the conventional education and meeting activities have been abandoned and teachers prefer the teaching style of talking and discussion rather than instilling endless knowledge to their students’ minds. Thus, in-class or in-meeting corrections are essential.

In summation, based on these advantages, it is wise and encouraged for students and employees to give corrections in classes or meetings.