TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Usually the famous entertainer and athletes are expert of their own field of performance. Being celebrity gives them certain position of importance in society. People in different age groups might perceive, the influence from such celebrities differently. In my view the opinions of entertainers and athletes hold more importance to younger people than older people on three accounts.

First, Since young people are usually more active in activities considered lively and hence they have more exposures to entertainers and athletes than older people. In addition, younger people tend to have friend circle which is also exposed to activities of entertainer and athletes. Generally the discussions among younger people, largely centered around themes such as entertainment, sports etc. Whereas Older people are not much interested in such activities. However, older people do read newspapers and journals, sometimes watch TV too. Even though they are not much influenced by such celebrities as much as younger people do.

Secondly, older people have vast experiences of practical life. They have gone through practically every phase of life to understand worldly matters comprehensively and on basis of that older people develop their opinion. When they were young they could have been influenced but after maturity of so many years, older people does not highly regard the opinions of entertainer and athletes. On the other hand, younger are still at an age where they have to learn a lot of things and develop their opinions. So, there is a chance that they may give greater importance to the opinions of celebrities.

Finally, Older people being knowledgeable and learned, they can gauge the depth of the opinions and ideas expressed by anyone, not only celebrities. Hence they will evaluate what is being said and in which context it is said. Based on that evaluation they will attach importance to the opinion of celebrity. Whereas, younger people sometimes gets affected by flashy nature of sensational opinions or due to mere personality of celebrities.

Hence in my view based on above arguments it can be concluded that, older people have more knowledge, practical learning to evaluate the opinions and based on that attach importance to opinion. Whereas, younger people can give more importance to opinions of entertainers and athletes based on their personalities and performances.