TPO-49: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the value of a trusted, staunch friend. However, when it comes to choosing your circle of friends, some prefer a small number of people they have known from the past. Others might rather befriending new people in every stage of life and having a vast number of friends from school, university, work, etc. Although I can’t deny that the ability to make new friends easily is quite important throughout life, I prefer keeping a close circle of friends with whom I have been acquainted with for a long time. The reasons for my point of view are elaborated below.

Trust is one of the most important aspects of every friendship. Without concrete and mutual trust, the ties between two people are weak and unsustainable. As it is evident, the length of the time two people have been acquainted with one another has a direct impact on how much they can truly trust each other. Although a new found friendship might seem thrilling at first since it brings new adventures with it, one might find it difficult to rely on a new friend and trust him/her with personal matters as he/she would with an old friend.

Another important aspect of all friendships is the ability to open up to a friend. With that said, another reason I believe old friends can bring more satisfaction to someone’s life is that the longer we have known someone, the more memories we share with them. These mutual memories result in a deep affection and bond built between two people. This strong bond can make it easier for people to open up to another and share their personal feelings, talk about their relationships and discuss their personal affairs. Also, the shared memories and experiences two friends have with each other, will make it easier for them to relate and sympathize. These reciprocal feelings of affection and sympathy will lead to elevated levels of satisfaction and happiness resulting from spending time and sharing thoughts and doubt with an old friend.

By and large, I believe the two most valued aspects of all friendships, trust and mutual sympathy, are better obtained from old, well-known friends. Keeping all that was said in mind, I believe one should always be open to meeting different people and making new friends. Although long known friendships might bring more happiness and satisfaction to our lives, a new friend can familiarize us with new experiences and open up our minds to new concepts.