TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

It is an indisputable fact that friends make our life much more enjoyable and happier. For that, people have always been striving to build harmonious friendships. Recently, one of the most debatable issue related to this topic is that weather keeping old friends is important for someone's happiness more than making new friends. Some people believe that making new friends is better for happiness because new people give them new perspective in life which could make them delighted. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that keeping old friends is the key to happiness. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point is that old friends are more reliable and trustworthy, which are two important components for happiness. They know us better, we share a lot in common. They are always there for us especially in tough time. real friends never let their friend down, they will do whatever it takes to make their friends happy. When it comes to expressing emotions, it is more likely to feel comfortable when we talk to old friend.Old friends are loyal to their friends, they will never betray them. people should treasure their old friends, they should go the extra miles to keep them as friends. My friend Youstina is a compelling example of that, When I was in high school, I failed my chemistry exam. I had hard time understanding balancing chemical equation, so my friend offered me to help me since she excellent in chemistry. She was generous enough to share her notes with me and free her time for me, what's more, I told her to keep my failing in chemistry as a secret between the two of us. she was very loyal and helpful. This example clearly illustrates that "a friend in need is a friend in deed".

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that old friends are very supportive. In other words, they will never criticize your choices, they encourage us to go forward and never give up. Moreover, they are always with us in thin and thick and endure the worst time with us. I vividly remember, when I was in college, my uncle passed away. I was extremely depressed to the point that I was not going to college and I decided to drop out, my friends never abandon me. They used to come to my house and calm me down with giving me unlimited support and hope to continue my life goals. I am thankful for them because they never give up on me, To wrap it up, old is gold.

In conclusion, if we contemplate the mentioned reasons, we will soon realize that maintaining old- term friendship is significant to our happiness and survive in life. Our friends are priceless and irreplacable.