TPO41

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, education has often played a prominent role in all human societies. Dou to its paramount role, teachers have been considered as a valuable group in every society. But some people hold a view that nowadays instructures are not appreciated by others in contrast to the past. However, some other take an opposite view and believe that teachers now are more valued that before. I personally agree with the former view. In the following paragraphs, I will collaborate on my perspective.

The first significant reason to be mentioned is that there are a variety of educational facilities today. Advanced technology like the Internet obviously provides a huge information and everybody easily can access to them. I can remember when I was a child, I had a lot of questions about the creation of the world , different infectious diseases, solar system and so on. I could just ask my questions from my teachers in the school, my parents, or books borrowing from a small library next to my building house. Now every student in the school easily can access the Internet and search every information in the scientific websites. Some of this website like Wikipedia have a better knowledge than current teachers in the school and believe me even professors in the universities. As a result, the students know their teacher always are not the best reference of information.

Another equally important reason is that computer and communication technology provide some interesting careers that cause a huge income for people. According to a recent survey conducted by Harvard University, most increased income jobs are depended to computer studies such as programming, analyzing data and computer engineering. These increase salary changed the perspective of people about traditional works such as teaching in the schools or even higher educational system, universities. Today parents advice their children to choose study fields related to increased income jobs such as computer engineering.

All in all, teachers are one of the most important parts of every human society. But in my view, they have fewer values than the past due to advanced technology. Everyone easily can access to information and like jobs with a higher income.