The twentieth century saw great change. In your opinion, what is one change that should be remembered about the twentieth century? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

When it comes to the issue the great change in the twentieth century, some people believe that human destructive effect on the environment is the great change in recent century. However, others can opposite with this idea. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight, because human activities intensify global warming, expand deforestation, and pollute water.

First at all, Human activities have increased the amounts of carbon dioxide, which is a green house gas, into atmosphere. As we all know, enhancing the green house gases causes plenty of sun radiation to be trap in the Earth, which make this planet warmer. Although some people that increasing the temperature of Earth will be about some degrees, they ignore this fact that this little change would brings several catastrophes such as melting ice caps, changing climate and pattern of precipitation, brings long droughts, and so on. Therefore, global warming is the main human’s predicament in twentieth century.

A further point we must consider is that forest, which is called the lunge of the Earth, have a vital function on this planet. They not only are habitations for abundant species, but also preserve the life cycle by absorbing the carbon dioxide and generating oxygen. In addition, trees and plants prevent of soil erosion and desertification. Nevertheless, human had much enthusiasm for destroying them to meet their needs. Indeed, medical science progresses lead people to have high level of health and decrease the rate of mortality. As a result, it is quite normal that the world has hosted of plenty of population, which forces human to overuse of nature resources like forest. I think that a small example can give some light on this matter. Nowadays, human has to destroy forests building habitations or making farm lands, or expanding highway.

Apart from points I made above, the water deficient always has existed, while this predicament is intensified in recent century. Increasing the industrial activities mean they need more water, and also they will release much contamination in water. So, the water pollution not only depletes many rivers from fishes, but also forces us to pay much for fresh water.

All above evidence supports that human have negative impacts on nature by increasing green house gas, enhancing deforestation, and contaminate water. Last but not leas, I hope that people gain the deeper insight that the Earth presently is the only planet that we can live there.