In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

It can be asserted with certainty that one of the most magnificent inventions of time has been the automobile. With its advent, a seething thrill has took over people eager to see one of these dainty vehicles and feel the excitement of traveling with speed and grace. Ever since it was first presented, many companies have thrived to introduce more productive cars, competing over design, speed, size, power and safety. As a result, today we are faced with countless automobiles raging through the streets in various parts across the globe. In this regard, one might wonder about the outlook of this burgeoning industry in terms of quantity – will the streets be teamed up with more cars in the next twenty years, or will other avenues of transportation take over? Although this brilliant innovation has, without doubt, altered our lives and transformed the face of transportation, it has also been the cause of critical problems many great cities are confronted with today. Some of these issues that have been resulted from numerous cars striding about big, industrial cities have grown into a world-concerning crisis with no obvious solution at hand. Pertain to this, I believe in the next two decades, we can anticipate fewer cars in the streets, being replaced by other means of transportation. The major causes resulting to this phenomenon are elaborated below.

Air pollution has become an unsustainable global crisis of the twenty-first century, threatening major cities and towns. One of the biggest source of toxins infesting the air are automobiles. Although first thought as a subsidiary problem, this catastrophe has become so concerning that in many great cities it has been made illegal to travel via a personal car on specific days. In order to overcome this crisis, many cities across the world have enacted policies to limit the number of cars on the streets. One of these strategies is to develop various avenues of public transportation and encourage citizens to get about the city via bus, metro, taxis, bicycle, etc. Many great, industrial cities have already adopted these regulations, thus decreasing the number of cars on streets. And, with the spread of these procedures to other cities struggling with air pollution, it can be expected that in the near future we will witness fewer cars roaming the streets.

Another major problem that will probably lead to an incline in the quantity of automobiles in the future, in the eminent issue of traffic. Ironically, the cars once developed to speed up transportation have led to colossal traffic jams lasting days, and even weeks, thus wasting away precious time trapped in the stagnation of vehicles. A certain solution for this concern would be to decrease the number of private cars and cultivate new ways for people to get around. Although some might argue with this viewpoint, inclining that the solution to traffic problems lies in advancing the infrastructure – roads, highways, bridges, etc. – of the effected cities, I believe infrastructure can only alleviate the problem to some extent, whereby the reduction of cars traveling in the cities will be the ultimate key.

Regarding the discussion at hand, I also believe this general rule can’t be implied to all cities and towns. For instance, in some developing municipalities, the overall number of cars will most likely increase, as they reach the threshold on industrialization. Whereas, in advanced countries more aware of the adverse consequences of issues caused by staggering number of cars, mainly air pollution, the number of cars will show a conspicuous decline in the near future.

In general, the automobile industry is an ever-changing one with an ambiguous future. But it can be concluded that in order to overcome the major struggles resulted from numerous cars in major municipalities, the number of vehicles will show a reduction in the decades to come.