In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

Over the past several decades, our society has witnessed and experienced radical changes in each and every aspect of our lives. One of the most salient transformations that can be seen in society is the increasing number of cars in use. Regarding this issue, some people hold the opinion that people will utilize fewer cars in the future primarily because of the pollutants emitted by them. Personally, however, I believe that in twenty years there will be even more automobiles in use than there presently are. I feel this way mainly because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

In the first place, it is my point of view that urban cities are augmenting in size and that more rural areas are morphing into advanced towns. As a result, as time passes by, people who have to commute, are using more cars than ever before. South Korea is a compelling example of this. Just a century ago, South Korea was an undeveloped country that based its economy mainly on agriculture. Therefore, most people did not have to travel far distances to work as they had their agricultural lands near their residencies. To be more precise, they mostly walked to their lands or traveled by bicycle. Nevertheless, Korea in the last years has experienced unprecedented growth in its economy and as a consequence, urban cities have developed in most of the city's territories. Modern people thus, usually live in places far from their companies, and inevitably have to utilize cars to commute. In other words, because the advancement of big cities encourages people to travel by car, in two decades, more cars will be in use than there are today.

In the second place, it is an undeniable fact that cars are becoming more accessible as the years go on. To explain, new laws have stimulated the increase in worker's salaries and on account of this, automobiles nowadays, are getting affordable to everyone, including people from lower social ranks. To illustrate this point, I will give a personal example. Even though my parents had an average income in the past, my family had never owned a car until a few years ago. Both my father and mother have the same job that they did when I was young, but the only difference is that their salaries have increased over the years. Now, my family owns two cars and we will probably invest our savings in one more. Stated differently, the rise in people's wages have enabled Millenials to purchase and utilize cars. It is my opinion that this phenomenon will continue and thus, more cars will be in use in twenty years' time.

To conclude, although some people may uphold that people will utilize more public transportation in the future due to car's disadvantages, I strongly believe that social and political changes will encourage more people to acquire automobiles. Therefore, based on the arguments mentioned above, I completely disagree with the statement that in two decades there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.