At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology growing so fast, universities playing an important role in the societies. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that the most important function of colleges and universities is based on education activities and they should receive more financial support rather than sports and social activities while others look at this concept through a different lens. From my vantage point, sports and social activities should be regarded as one of the universities’ top priorities and should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the main purpose of attempting university is to increase students’ knowledge and prepare them for their future life. Classes and libraries are critical to improve students’ knowledge, but social activities are essential for preparing students for their future life. Social activities learn students how to improve their self-confidence, work as a member of a team work, make friends, interact with other people. For example, I can recall when I was attempting NU University around seven years ago, I always try to participate in social groups and clubs. One of my favorite club, that I attended, was “Become creative”. In this club, every week one of the members presented recent invention in his/her field and tried to illustrated it as simple as he/she can. Thorough this meetings, I became familiar with many different fields and also made a lot of friends.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reason available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind that the health benefits of regular exercise and physical activity are hard to ignore. Everyone benefits from exercise, regardless of age, sex or physical ability. Everyone knows that regular exercise is good for the body. But exercise is also one of the most efficient ways to improve your mental health. Regular exercise can have a profoundly positive impact on depression, anxiety and more. It also relieves stress, improve memory, helps you sleep better, and boost overall mood. According to a recent empirical study conducted by the School of Psychology of Yale University reveal that students, who exercise regularly, feel more energetic throughout the day, sleep better at night, have sharper memories, and feel more relaxed and positive about themselves and their lives.

To make a long story short, I do not think it is a good idea to devote more money on classes and libraries rather than sports and social activities. Taking all the aforementioned into account, it can be concluded that sports and social activities are as important as educational activities. Therefore, I highly suggest that universities and colleges should devote equal financial support for classes, libraries, sport and social activities.