University students are often encouraged to study fields in which significant job growth (a large increase in job opportunities) is expected; these fields currently include science, technology, engineering, and math, do you believe students should consider studying fields related to these subjects even if they are more interested in other subjects? Why or why not?

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that the field of study has gained much attention and prominence in recent years. That being said, it is not far-fetched to find some controversy and debate surrounding some of its aspects, namely what field of study can lead us to a better job opportunity. One popular opinion regarding this issue is that students should educate in study fields related to some significant subject even if they are not interested in them just due to a future job opportunity. I personally repudiate this thesis. In the ensuing paragraphs; I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite reason coming to mind is that at the most of the time if people do not pursue their interest, they will not be a success. So students are not an exception from this theory. Choosing a kind of field with less interest and continuing it just because of better job opportunity, one maybe gets disappointed because he had failed to find his point of interest in it then he could not graduate in that field successfully. Even if he graduates with a higher score and also find the appropriate job regarding that field, he will get bored after a while because he could not find that kind of job fit with his spirits. In order to illustrate, a rather recent yet substantially important psychological study conducted at the University of Tehran in my country can be pointed out. The researchers found out that more than 75% of students continuing their education in some significant subject such as science, technology, and engineering just because of their popularity among students in regard to a better job opportunity, have quitted their job and started to study in the field in which they are really interested. This clearly substantiates the idea that how much personal desire in the field of study is important in further success at a career.

The other significant reason which deserves some words here is that in today’s modern day and age we observe in which there are a wide array of new fields of study and jobs, students have a wide array of choosing which most of them are gaining a place among previous significant fields. Take MBA (Master of Business Administration) as an example. So important is this major that most of the student graduated in bachelor degree in various fields can continue in this major as master provided that they are interested in business. Since business method has gained much prominence in the recent competitive era, employees in most of the careers put more emphasis on it and are interested in developing their strategies in finance and marketing and most of the other aspects of their job based on the most modern science of business. So it is obvious that unlike the past, students have a wide range of option in the field that they want really chose.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that, it is rational that students choose the field of study which they really are voracious about learning new things on that provided that they want to fulfill the better career. Besides, nowadays students do not have to choose among a limited option of subjects. Thus, it is highly suggested that students put more attention and effort to study the fields in which they are really interested.