We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)? Use reasons and specific examples to explain why these characteristics are important.

Work is an important aspect of our lives. No matter what we do or where we are, we cannot escape our responsibilities in work or at school. We spend more time at work during the week than we do with our families, thus the quality of co-workers are important for us to create satisfying work environment. Some people believe that a good co-worker should be a smart and an expert person. While others focus on different traits. In my view, being adaptable and helpful are the most important characteristics for co-worker for many reasons.

The first one, a good co-worker is able to adjust to new changes. When you work at a firm or an organizations, you could face abrupt changes such as changing in routines or procedures. A good co-worker does not stubborn when new circumstances have been introduced on short notice, also does not complain about new procedures. For instance, I have been working at a Walgreens for a year. Almost every two or three weeks, our boss will schedule new hours shifts or changing work flow based on certain circumstances. Every person including me at the pharmacy seem fine, except one of my colleague.  He always started complaining about his new hours shifts, which make us confused and distracted. Or incase of new task assigned to him,  he refused doing so; consequently, it would delay the work flow for preparing prescriptions. Because of my colleague negative attitude, we were so nervous and unrelaxed many times at the pharmacy. Therefore, from this experience, I have learned that working with a flexible person is pretty important.

Moreover, a good co-worker offers assistant. He/she helps out when a colleague fails to handle a situation properly, or who does not understand how to do it precisely. For example, even though I am working at the pharmacy for a while, there are many areas I am not fully understood. Such as, filling certain prescriptions as well as health insurance policy plans. Because of working at a busy pharmacy, sometimes I compelled to call to an insurance company regarding some issue with patient’s prescriptions. And thus, I always need help. My senior pharmacy technician, who is a well- respected old lady, always provide me with her help and support. Last week, when I was calling an insurance company about patient’s coverage plan, I wasn’t familiar with some company representative’s questions and thus, I became so embarrassed. Although my senior technician was busy, without asking, she approach me offering her assistant, then she started writing down some notes to help me answering company’s man questions. And finally,  with her help I fixed the problem. As you can see, working with someone who is supportive, and helpful is very crucial in the work. Especially for those whom they deal with people’s life.

In short, there are many characteristics that co-workers should have in order to be a professional person . The most two important are being adaptable to any changes and also helpful to others. Every person should possess these traits not only reduce work’s pressure, but also in order to get job done well.