What change would make your hometown more appealing to people your age?

Nowadays, many countries have suffered several changes in their demography. We can name among others industrialization its foremost consequence, the migration. In the last years, this phenomena have made that small towns left almost empty, because young people are leaving towns for going to bigger cities. However, not all is said about it, there are changes to be made toward shrink these migration flows, such as bringing to town more technology, encouraging central government to reduce taxes for people in town and finally increase the number of jobs.

First, more technology. One of the reason for living a hometown it is because of young people love to meet new friends and stay in touch with them. However, these days, the vast majority of communication is made through internet and mobile phone; hence, if the young people have the sense of being connected with the rest of the world, they may not feel the necessity of leave the town.

Second, reduce taxes. Considering the reduce of taxation charged to people who stay in their hometown, can be a powerful reason to stay and work there. For example in several countries, the more far the town is located, the more benefit in taxation enjoy.

Finally, stimulate the labor market. Although, many reasons for leave the hometown can be mentioned, the scarcity of jobs is by far the most important. Whatever the location or the beauty of landscapes, if people do not have a decent job means that town is condemned to emptiness. Hence, a very effective way to avoid migration out of the town is to stimulate the labor market in order to improve the numbers and quality of jobs. For examples, there are countries, which has small towns full of people working in mining activities.

In summary, despite existing several reason to leave hometown, it is also true, that things can be done to avoid this phenomena, for instance, providing internet based technology, implementing financial benefits and foremost stimulating the labor market. Moreover, if authorities succeed in implementing this advices, they will shrink the migration flows.