What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country?

Frankly, in the last 100 years, countless innovations and discoveries like telephone, computer, the Internet and some new discoveries in the field of biology or genetics have occurred in the world. From my point of view, the most beneficial discovery for people in my country was recombinant DNA technology. I believe that this technology is important for people all around the world and has affected our lives dramatically. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, scientists can make numerous recombinant proteins with this technology. They have produced various hormones such as insulin, factor VIII, growth hormone, etc. Many people depend on these drugs for their survival and without these proteins, they cannot live more than a week.

In the second place, scholars have modified the genome of important plants with the help of recombinant DNA technology. They have manipulated the genome of wheat, rice, some fruits and vegetables to produce better plants. These genetically modified foods are more resistant to pesticides, diseases and harsh environmental conditions. Besides, they have more essential nutrients like minerals, fatty acids, pigments and so forth.

Last but not least, recombinant DNA technology has saved numerous lives. Researches apply this technology to cure patients with dangerous diseases like cancer, hepatitis, AIDS, etc. For example, a researcher discovered the hepatitis B vaccine with the help of recombinant DNA technology.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that, recombinant DNA technology is the most significant discovery in the last 10 years for people not only in my country, but also for people all around the world. It has helped us insert new genes in the genome of plants and animals with better characteristics, produce recombinant drugs or vaccines and other useful products which I outlined above.