“What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.”

I belong to a country which was colonized under the British Government for over a 100 years. The industrial development was poor and the economy was in shambles . In the post independence era the discovery of the vast natural resources in our country especially the coal mines have played a significant role in the development of my country , India.

In the colonization phase the masters imported good and sold at a hefty price to the natives. Manufacturing industry was almost non existent . It was after independence that we started looking inwards to utilize the available resources. India is actually diverse country rich in many natural resources.We discovered coal mines in the states of Bihar , Jharkhand and Assam. We developed our coal mines to extract fuel and start the industrialization of our young nation.

Coal is actually a very useful and multipurpose resource. It can be used to generate electricity , power turbines and heavy machines, used as fuel to power steam engines . Electrification provided a boost to almost every sector. Heavy industries were set up and imports were reduced .Transportation using the railway network was powered by coal. It connected the millions of people fostering trade . India made progress in industrialization and the economy improved.

The city homes were now powered by electricity generated from coal ,and brought the era of television and electronic media. As a developing nation , rural electrification was less dominant . Villages were nonetheless dependent on coal as fuel source for cooking .Farmers used coal for irrigation purposes

From cities to villages and industrialist to farmers , coal had an impact on the lives of all the citizens. No wonder it was termed 'black gold' once upon a time .Due to the aforementioned ground , I would cite coal as one of the most beneficial discoveries for the people of my country in the last 100 years .