What is the most important animal in your country?

The relationship between human beings and animals is a very long one indeed. For tens of thousands of years animals have served as a source of food, labor, and companionship for humanity. Even in the technology-driven 21st century, animals still perform these roles. This importance of animals to human society is most easily seen in the cow. It provides us with meat, milk and leather; three products we are unable to manufacture synthetically. In my opinion, the cow is the most important animal in my country.

Firstly, humans have, for millennia, raised cows for the milk they produce. This liquid is an essential part of the human diet. For children it is a natural follower to the mother’s milk they drink when they are babies. As they grow older the calcium contained in milk helps them develop strong teeth and bones. For adults, too, milk features prominently in most people’s diet. Many find it difficult to drink coffee or tea without milk, and cereal, that commonly consumed breakfast dish, simply cannot be eaten without milk.

A further source of nourishment we derive from our bovine friends is beef. This has been an important source of protein for many societies since the early days of stock-raising. In recent years, the globalization of economic activity and particularly that of agriculture has led to beef penetrating the diets of those whose societies traditionally found other sources of protein. As fish stocks decline due to dangerous overfishing, beef seems certain to become an even more important part of many people’s daily consumption. Although there are alternative meat sources, such as pork and chicken, beef has greater appeal for many people.

Finally, though beef and milk are the products most people associate with cows, we must not forget leather. Although this material can be obtained from other animals, the most common kind of leather is produced using the hides of cows. It is a product used in the manufacture of bags, gloves, clothing and shoes. Of these, it is in the manufacture of shoes that cow leather is most important. Leather is not the only material used in the producing footwear, canvas and plastic also being common, but the leather is the strongest and the most comfortable, especially for formal or work shoes. Everyone in the developed world probably has at least one pair of these and the overwhelming majority will be made of leather.

In conclusion, the benefits which the cow offers to modern society are irreplaceable. We obtain important nourishment from its meat and its milk, and our feet are comfortably protected by its leather. A world without steaks, without cool glasses of milk, and with our feet encased in plastic would not be such a pleasant one. It is the cow that stands between us and such a world; consequently it is undoubtedly the most important animal in my country.