What is your approach to problem-solving, and how does it work for you? Use specific details to support your response.

Everyone has problems and everyone has their own approach to problem solving. When I am faced with a dilemma, my solution is to talk to someone about it, preferably a person who is older and more experienced than I am. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, my problems are not particularly special and there are many people in my social circle who have already dealt with identical issues. My experience has taught me that when I have a crisis, there is always an older person in my life who has dealt with the exact same problem. Not only that, but they have lived through the consequences of the decisions they made in regard to the issue. For instance, when I was a university freshman I was terribly behind on one of my assignments. I could not decide between asking my professor for an extension which may have made me look lazy in her eyes, or submitting a sub-par assignment which would make me look like a poor student. Fortunately, a sophomore in the department explained that most professors are more than willing to provide extensions when needed. He told me that none of them would view me as lazy, as they all understand the pressures that students are under these days.

Furthermore, I find that simply vocalizing my problems helps me to put them in perspective. Merely having someone to listen to my problems assists my problem solving, even if that person does not have a lot of advice to give me. For example, after talking about the above issue with my classmate, I realized that it was not the end of the world. I know now that I was over thinking the problem, that both of the possible solutions were feasible and that my professor would not see me as a bad person either way. Moreover, when I explained to my upperclassman that the assignment was worth only one-fifth of my final grade, I realized that I could stop worrying about the problem. This came to me even before he voiced his opinion on the matter.

In conclusion, my approach to problem solving is to talk to someone about my problem. I do this because there are many people in my life who have endured the same problems and because vocalizing my issues helps me overcome my worries.