What in your opinion, has been the single most important scientific or technological development of the last fifty years? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

It is astonishing how the world has been changed in last fifty years. Myriad of things have been invented. In my opinion, the most important one was the invention of the cellphone. The reasons why I hold this stance will be elaborated in the paragraphs below.

One of the reasons is that cellphones enable people to communicate in easy way. Nowadays, with the existence of smartphones humans can reach their friends, relatives, colleagues and partners from the all around the world just at the touch of the button. The modern apps, such as Skype or WhatsApp let people not merely talk to each other whenever they want, but to have visual contact as well. If people, who lived one hundred years ago, had had this marvelous advantage, they definitely would have appreciated it. Although some individuals are technophobes, even they use cellphones to stay in touch with beloved ones. To that end, cellphones provide mankind with the tool to socialize.

Another reason is that cellphones facilitate rise of the intelligence. Today, almost every smartphone has access to the Internet, which contains tremendous amount of information on a variety of topics. Therefore, by using the web students can find almost any information they need to excel in the process of education. If before the invention of the cellphones students had to spend hours in the library to search in books for the data they need, today it takes just a few seconds to achieve the same outcome. Despite the opinion that cellphones very often destruct students from their studies, it is sometimes indispensable to use the phones to find the necessary information. So, cellphones enable people to enhance their intellectual abilities.

To recapitulate, I feel that the most conspicuous technological development of the last fifty years, was the craft of the cellphones. It was very significant since cellphones provide people with the feasibility to communicate with others and make them smarter. All things considered it is reasonable to assume that cellphones are pivotal to have for people.