Work is an important part of our lives. No matter what we do or where we are, we cannot escape our responsibilities at work or in school. We spend much more time at our work during the week than we do with our families, so the quality of co-workers is pretty important to create a satisfying job environment. Some people believe that a good co-worker should be smart and an expert person. While others focus on different traits. In my view, being adaptable and helpful are the most important characteristics of co-worker for two main reasons.

First, a good co-worker is able to adjust to new changes. When you work at a firm or an organization, sometimes you could face abrupt changes such as in routines or in procedures. A good colleague doesn’t stubborn when some issues have been changed, also doesn’t complain about new procedures. For instance, I have been working at Walgreens pharmacy for a year.  Almost every two or three weeks, our manager will schedule new hours shifts or changing work flow based on certain circumstances. After that, one of my colleague usually started complaining about his shift hours by giving us unreasonable explanation, which make us so confused and distracted. Or he refused doing his new tasks, which delay the work flow for preparing prescriptions. So, we became so nervous and unrelaxed so many times because of this co-worker negative attitude. Therefore, this experience taught me that working with a flexible person is a pretty important.

Second, a good c0-worker offers assistant. He/she helps out when a colleague fails to handle a situation properly, or who doesn’t understand how to do it precisely. For instance, even though I’m working at a pharmacy as pharmacy technician since a year, there are many areas I am still not fully understood. Because of I’m working at a busy pharmacy, sometimes I was compelled to call an insurance company regarding some issue with patient’s prescription; thus, I am always need help. My senior pharmacy technician, an old lady who is very well- experienced, always provide me with support and help. Last week, When I was calling an insurance company about some medications were not covered by patient’s insurance plan, I wasn’t familiar with the issue, and I don’t know how to fix it, which I became so embarrassed. Although the senior technician was so busy, without asking, she came to me offering her assistant. Then, she started writing down some notes to help me answering company representative’s question, and finally the problem was solved. As you can see, I learned that a helpful, supportive co-worker is very essential in work, especially for my job field as a pharmacy technician for the reason that we are dealing with people’s life.

In short, the most important co-workers’ characteristics are adaptability and also they are helping each other.  Nowadays, our work style has become so complicated and much more duties than before. Consequently, colleagues should get along with each other well as much as they can in order to get their job done well, and ultimately reduce job’s pressure atmosphere.