You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person’s honesty is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

There are a diverse range of features that make a person appropriate for leadership position. A substantial number of people take the view that honestly is the most important characteristic for being a leader. However, I take the issue with this widespread belief due to some reasons. I will elaborate upon the momentous reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, so knowledgeable a person is the best choice for being a leader. It is my firm conviction that a well-educated person who has monumental amount of knowledge can guide other as best as possible. To illustrate this more, I would like to give an example of this. I have gone a part time jobs recently in a computer company which is one of the well-known computer company in my home town. Whenever my co-workers and I get into the trouble, our boss who has a genetic flair for computer helps us. Had he had too prosaic a mind, he would have not been able to help us. Deeming a situation that the leader has too prosaic a mind and he honestly acknowledge his weaknesses; how would others benefit from this? Hence, the more knowledge a leader enjoys, the more successful he would be in his position.

Second, the ability to manage and control different situation is another important feature of a leader. It is common knowledge that too successful leader is a person able to govern a great many people. To pave the way for this example, I would like to give an example of this. I have jointed an organization recently in which we have plan to help our societies through volunteer activities. Although our leader is an honest person, he is not a successful leader since he is not able to control the members of the group. As an instant, last week the opinions was divided on whether to help eight to fifteen-year- old children or older. It caused a great deal of friction; I strongly believe that it was his weakness that could not make the atmosphere relax. In my view, a leader should be able to control the situation even by telling some white lie. In a word, having leadership skill, a person would do its best in a leader ship position.

In the final analysis, according to above-mentioned points and examples, I subscribe to the opinion that there are other important characters for a leader rather than honestly including knowledge and leadership abilities. I highly recommend to choose a leader which has significant amount of knowledge. Besides, having leadership abilities, a leader would be successful to guide others.