You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer

Through all stages of our lives, from our childhood to our adulthood, there are a lot of people whom we have interaction with, such as our parents, our teachers, our classmates, and our roommates at dormitories. Among all these people, our classmates and our roommates at university, have a deep influence on our lives. Although some people hold this idea that universities should be responsible to assign roommates to students, other believe that students should be given the chance to choose their own. It is a controversial issues with pros and cons; however, I firmly believe that students should be allowed to choose their own roommates because of two important reasons.

The first point which should be taken into consideration is that, by choosing our own roommate, we would be able to enjoy our time better. First, an individual could choose someone whom she have a lot in common with, and in this fashion, the person would be able to get along well with him/her. You can participate activities that you are both interested in, and, as a result enjoy your time. For example, I had a roommate at TMU University, while I was pursuing my studies as an undergraduate student. Both students had a lot in common. We both had a burning desire to climb mountains and camping in nature. Once we went to one of the mountains, located at north of Tehran, and stayed for three days. In addition, We were fascinated by the nature in daytime and enthusiasted about the beauty of the sky at nights. We really got a lot of enjoyment at that time. In brief, allowing students to choose their roommate, will add a great deal of enjoyment to student's life. Students don’t have any money. If it wasn’t because of that, It wouldn’t do best. I do not like this car. This view is horrible. I feel tired this morning. I am not looking forward to the concert. He is my enemy.

The second point is that, in this fashion, students will gain more knowledge. Students can choose one of their knowledgeable classmates to live with in dorm, as a result they can help each other in their studies. Moreover, students can work in groups to complete their projects and learn a lot because of this interaction. For instance, while I was studying Mechanical Engineering at Yasooj University, I had a roommate who was also majoring in that field. Myself, can remember that we formed a group to perform a teamwork to accomplish an assignment in CFD course. He had an in-depth knowledge of fluid mechanics and I had a dramatic capability to write computer programs. We cooperated with each other and prepared an exhaustive report for that class. Because of this, I learned a lot about fluid mechanics and my roommate gained skill to work with computer. In sum, cooperation with roommates can benefit students in many ways such as gaining more knowledge.

As we have seen, if students are allowed to choose their own roommates, they can gain more skill as well as more knowledge, and they would be able to enjoy themselves. I recommend every university to allow their students to choose their roommates.