You have long been friends with someone. If they do something that you don’t like, should you still be friends with him or her?

Throughout history, friendship has always been cited as an outstanding principle in human’s behavior and social relationships. Due to its paramount importance, sociologists have always tried to examine relationships between friends and yet they haven’t been able to find an answer to questions such as, if a long term friend does something wrong, whether she or he should be forgiven or not. From my vantage point, being friends with someone for a long time is really precious and one shouldn’t leave this friendship easily. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first reason that I like to mention is that having a long term friendship helps you to improve your social skills. It is obvious that all the people who have long-term friendship, whether they are introverted or extroverted, are better skilled in social behaviors and can socialize with other people in a very much easier way. A recent study in Faculty of Sociology in University of Tehran reveals that people who have one or more long term friend have 60% more chance to socialize in small communities than people with no long term friends.

Furthermore, it is an indisputable fact that friends and specifically long term/old friends can help each other in tough spots. When you have a long term friend, you can always count on her or him in difficult situations and you are confident that your friend will try as hard as possible to help you cope with that difficult situation. There is a famous quote which says “Friends are the family we choose.” It means that good friends are like family to us and we can count on them in tough spots. As a case in point, last year, I had some financial problems and if my friends had not helped me, I would have not known what to do.

Finally, the most prominent point to be noted is that forgiving is a moral virtue which has been acclaimed in almost every nation and culture. When you forgive your long term friend, you give your friend a new chance and it is advantageous for both you and your friend. Forgiveness has been praised in every culture and religion which demonstrates its importance from a very long time ago, As Sadi, a celebrated Persian poet, says “Forgiveness is the greatest moral virtue.”

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that long term friendship is really precious and if a long term friend do something that you don’t like, you should still be friends with her or him. As mentioned before, long term friendship improves your social skills, helps you in tough spots, and helps you gain moral virtues. Thus, I believe that everyone should have a few long term friends and she or he shouldn’t end these long term friendships very easily.