In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic (for example, honesty, intelligence, a sense of humor) that a person can have to be successful in life? Use specific reasons and examples from your experience to explain your answer. When you write your answer, you are not limited to the examples listed in the question.

Success can be defined in various ways. Some people believe making a lot of money is success while others may believe living a happy and non-stressful life means success. But according to me one’s success depends on the person’s character. The way he reacts to challenges and faces them, ultimately leads to success. And to build a character, many important traits are required. One such trait is being decisive. Thus, according to me ability to make quick decisions is one of the most important characteristic a person should possess.

To explain further, being decisive helps you solve your problem quicker. Many-a-times it happens so that you are stuck with pros and cons of the situation. As a result, you take a lot of time deciding on a side. And this may ultimately lead to no or negative outcome. To illustrate, when I was in college, I was a part of this awesome team which used to design and manufacture race buggies. We used to call them Baja buggies. As every other project, there was planning and execution involved. Once it happened so that during the testing of the vehicle the important part of the buggy broke and we didn’t know what to do. Our team leader, who made all the decisions, was not present at that time. We tried brainstorming on different ideas but couldn’t reach at one single decision as everyone was upcoming up with pros and cons. The following day when the leader came, we explained him everything and he just asked us to go ahead and manufacture a new part. He explained that even though it would cost us more money, we can arrange for it later through various sponsors. As you can see, if he hadn’t been decisive, we would have never be able to finish the project.

Furthermore, even if you fail by making a wrong decision, it just adds to your experience. This way you’ll know what mistake you did last time and take precautions to avoid the same. To elaborate, when I was learning stock trading I made a lot of mistakes. As you may know, stock market is very dynamic and volatile. You have to make quick decisions. During the learning curve, even though I made a lot of mistakes I gained experience. It just added to my knowledge. So next time when the same situation arose, I took a better call. This experience taught me that it is ok to fail. And you will only learn from such an experience.

In all, though being decisive won’t be the only quality a person needs to succeed, it is definitely one of the most important. Not only will you solve your problems faster but also learn from your bad experience if something goes wrong.