Advantages & Disadvantages of Cashless Society

Recent days, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trends to see prodigies discussing advantages and disadvantages of a cashless society. Few believe that the benefits of cashless transactions are far more than cash transactions, while others despise it. This essay will further elaborate on both sides of the argument to prudently persuade how cashless society is better than cash-based one.

On the one hand, online and card-based payments have myriads of merits. Firstly, a person does not need to carry cash, and carrying plastic money is more convenient. Secondly, while doing payments, he does not need to count the money to pay and do not need to wait for the return of the remaining money from the shopkeeper, thus, making the payment process faster. Finally, since people do not have hard money with them in this case, they are safe from robbery and other similar acts. Therefore, cashless payments are easy, fast, safe and convenient.

On the other hand, like every rose has its thorn, cashless payments have few demerits as well. To begin with, sometimes they are not secure. For example, while doing online transactions, the user has to share his card details and, in this way, sometime may become victim to cyber frauds. But, nowadays, the Police is quite alert about these crimes and it is very difficult to commit such crimes. Additionally, many people especially the older ones, feel uncomfortable in using plastic money. Nevertheless, it is their reluctance to accept the change. Thus, it can be concluded that, even though there are some drawbacks to this mode of transaction, they are not at all convincing.

In conclusion, after looking at both sides of the coin, it can be easily deduced that the benefits of a cashless society overweigh the cash-based civilization.