Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

It is an undenial fact that discrimination is still prevailed in the workplace on the basis of age although it has myriad of negative impacts on an individual .There are multiferious drawbacks of discrimination which I will be discussing in the essay below and I strongly agree that it should be made illigal consequently they would have a lot of advantages in their personal and professional life.

The first and foremost effect of biasness towards an older individual is nothing but causing emotional stress and throwing varios mental problems such as anxiety, fear, low-esteem and low confidence,etcetera. Secondly, such unwanted practice pushed the group to the deep networking of financial hardships if he/she loses the job being a victim of intimidation and discrimination. For instance, elderlies may not be able to pay their mortgagare on time alongwith other expenditures such as water, gas, electricity and internet billls so on. Therefore, if discrimination is made illigial , nobody will dare to perform such practice on the workplace , consequently, older people can spend their life smoothly enjoying quality of life.

However, there are some people on the other side of the fence who are not in favour of making it illigal . Those people think that the elderly may not perform as effective as a young employee can work by both physical and mental point of view. For instance, a 60 year's old person may not be able to lift as heavy load as a 30 year's old can. Therefore , they believe the productivity would be low.

To recapitulate, the elderly should not be discriminated because of their age as they rather complete the task more effectively than the younger one because of their holistic experience .Thus , the positive aspects outweigh the negative one .