Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workspace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimation against old workers be made illegal?

Recent days, there has been colossal upsurge in the trends to see prodigies discussing the discrimination with old people on work places. While few people believe that it is right to consider age while making decisions about employment, others completely despise it. This essay will elaborate both sides of the argument to prudently persuade why this trend is harmful for the whole society.

To commence with, the elders also should have the right of equality. More specifically, if they would not be having any source of income, how would they survive? In addition, they can be asset for any organisation since they have invaluable experience. Moreover, this elevates their confidence and gives them satisfaction of being inevitable part of our society. In India, for example, in all private and government organisations, people are retired after reaching a defined age which is generally 58 years. Now, even if an employee is physically fit and can pursue his job, he is not allowed to do so. Hence, due to lack of money, it becomes intricate for such people to live their life with self-respect. Seen in this light, the age based decisions on work places should be banned.

Despite the argument above, meanwhile, one school of thought endorses this trend. In other words, they believe that pensioners should not be offered job or should not be promoted, because they cannot bear the work pressure of the contemporary world. Additionally, either these people are not interested to learn the modern technologies, or cannot learn them at fast pace. Admittedly, there might be few issues while dealing with elders, but we should not underestimate that they also supported us when we were child.

In conclusion, I radically believe that government should define and implement strict laws to make age based prejudice illegal.