As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

In metropolitan cities, public transport is the key factor for mass transit. Either government should ease the public by improving the public transport or private vehicle owners by expanding the road system has sparked a new debate. This essay will discuss that why improvement in transportation system is necessary and why building the new roads cannot solve the problem.

The mass transportation should also be the part of master plan when cities expansion come under consideration. Mass transit like metro trains and public bus services has be engorged over the private cars in order to reduce the traffic. For example, Dubai has the foremost metro train and bus services system in the world, that not only provide commuter the real-time metro and bus timings at each stop but also serves with the internet Wi-Fi access to encourage public transport. Therefore, public transport can be the answer for the expanding cities.

Contrary to this, we also have to embrace the existence of private vehicles. Expanding the roads can ease the traffic but cars or lorries emission is also one of the causes for global warming, and its use can be controlled. For instance, to discourage the use of cars, government can increase the car registration fee and can put toll tax on busy streets, so people start preferring the public transport over the private vehicle. Hence, the problem of transportation can be controlled.

While the cities are expanding the government should focus on public transport instead of road expansions. This essay discussed the issues with private vehicles and provided the solution to encourage commuters on public transport. In my opinion enhancements in public transport can help to reduce the global warming.