The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

The fauna are the most attractive being on this planet and we should conserve them whole heartedly. Furthermore, there has been a debate on this subject since 1970 that animals have "rights". There has been an argument stating that should zoos be banned or are zoos helping in conserving the animals. In my opinion, zoos are necessary for nurturing and protecting the animals.

Firstly, in zoos, animals are protected and taken care of from the predators. In the past few years there have been a lot of cases in slaughtering animals in the forests, therefore, zoo provides a much safer environment. For instance, recently there has been a report on tigers wandering off in a jungle and other animals hunted down. This had alarmed the wildlife sanctuaries and they had been moved in a captive and a protected custody.

Secondly, in zoos they are not able to enjoy their freedom and are felt like prisoners. Apparently, some zoos are indulged in mal practices such as training an animal for circus performance, eventually, hitting them with a whip and hurting them. Although, on a larger note they are not killed or slaughtered unlike in jungles. Therefore, zoos have proven to act as an advantage towards saving these species.

On the other hand, the claim that animals have "rights" is nonetheless false because humans are the chief commanders of their lives. To conclude, zoos shouldn't be banned, rather, instead of zoos a plan should be devised about the national parks and the animal freedom.