Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

Assessment is a crucial part of a student’s life. It helps teachers and parents gauge student’s knowledge and intelligence. However, type of assessment that should be used to test a student is frequently debated. Many people support formal written type of assessment that has been practiced for so long , while there are others who vote for modern methods like continual assessment.

Assessing students continuously throughout the course using various projects and home assginment has various benefits. Firstly, it will help teachers to cover the entire scope of the subject unlike formal written exam which often fall short of it. Secondly,performance in formal exam largely depends on conducive environment like student’s health and surrounding etc. and student gets only one opportunity to prove his worth. But, in continual assessment, students get multiple opportunities through several assignments. Lastly, projects help to measure student’s understanding of subject, whereas written exams are only test of memory where students with good photographic memory will perform better.

Although, continual assessment has various advantages, it is still not considered a best way to assess children. Primary reason for this is the vulnerability of home assignments to cheating. It has been observed on various occasions that children either copy from friends or complete the assignments with assistance from parents. Such is not the case in formal exam, which is always invigilated. Futhermore, in formal assessment, all students are tested under similar conditions and each student gets equal opportunity to display his intelligence.Presence of formal exam at end of the course will motivate students to pay attention in class.

In conclusion,it is clear that formal assessment is not only just to all the students but also prevents cheating. Therefore, I am of the opinion that formal written assessment is the best way of assessing children.