Environmental problems are too great to be managed by individuals so real change can only be achieved at government level.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

Technological and Scientific advancements have helped human race to progress at a much larger rate. However, this has come a cost of various environmental problems which are having adverse effects on us. These problems need to be catered, but by whom is the question. Some people are of the opinion that government should undertake this responsibility as it too large of a problem to be managed by individuals, while others are of different opinion.

Root cause of environmental problem is increasing needs of human beings. We are exploiting our natural resources and polluting our environment with wastes. Much of this can be reduced if individuals alter their needs and start contributing towards common goal of having a healthy environment. For instance, using public transports for commuting rather than the personal cars, not only will it bring down the pollution but also will reduce significantly reduce the consumption of fossil fuels.

But, there is only so little an individual can do. The problem is so large that only a body with authorities can bring a significant change. Government has a capability to enforce various laws and regulations on organizations and factories, which are major cause of environmental hazards. Also, government can initiate various programs which will facilitate to citizens alternative options that are relatively less harmful for environment.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that even though there are various measures that individuals can take to solve the environmental problem, government should undertake this responsibility in order to have a significant impact.