Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as

coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

Recently, written examinations have sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question "is it advantageous or not?". Whereas it is a widely held view that continuous assessment such as coursework and projects are beneficial. I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the educational standpoint, a written course is bound up inextricably with effective assessment, which indicates they lead to both the learning process and schools' policies. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2016 demonstrates the relationship between practical courses and theoretical lessons as well as an exponential increase in students' performance. Their academic criticism was impressive. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of formal exams is positively correlated with not only fair examinations but also pre-prepared papers.

Within the realm of psychology, without the slightest doubt, formal assessments attribute to stress, in that it would come down to cognitive skills, talent-intensive skills, and higher education. A salient example of such attribution is universities progression, which is a cause of concern since it was mistaken to take nervous disorder for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars have had the opportunity to pinpoint test-taking strategies problems. Likewise, hardly had they confined their attention to anxiety, time pressure, and even undone assignments. Hence, it is correct to infer the pivotal role of course works.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes "all's well that ends well," after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that both formal examinations and continual assessment are essential to examine students knowledge. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.