Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

Today small shops are replaced by shopping malls and big complexes. I think that this will create adverse effect on economy. This essay will discuss about main problems that will create because of this trend.

Firstly, small shops and markets mainly owned by lower or middle class family who do not have other source for earning. Therefore, such families can not survive in the competition and at last have to opt for some other businesses or have to choose some low wages jobs. For example, today in small cities also we can see big shopping malls which already affected many small shops owners as they can not sell items at a competitive rate. So at the end, there is no option for them other than close their shop and do ordinary jobs.

Secondly, this trend also affects village people who directly sell goods to small shop owners. Shopping malls only offer them less profit and for that also they required to pass through strict regulations. In such cases, villagers cannot get real value for their goods. For instance, many well known potato chips companies buy potatoes in bulk quantity with discounted price and due to that in a market, farmers can not get real value of their crop.

In conclusion, shopping malls and big complexes indirectly destroy the nation's economy and therefore government have to implement strict measurement to protect the rights of small farmers and shop owners.