Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it more positive for their future prospects or does it have some adverse effects as well?

Language is an important means of communication. In today’s global world, multilingual person is always at an advantage.Therefore, parents want their children to learn a new language at an early age. However, many people argue that is not good for a child’s growth.

At an early age, while children are burdened with a wide range of topics to study, adding a new language to this list might overwhelm them. In fact, it has been observed that it slows down student’s growth making them slow. Additionally, too much emphasis on learning of new language might lead to ignorance of fundamental subjects like Science and Mathematics, which are far more important to learn than an additional language.

However, learning a new language has various benefits. Firstly, it improves listening skills by making the brain work harder to distinguish between languages. Also, a child now has a wide range of vocabulary using which he can express oneself much more effectively. Secondly, it activates multiple parts of the brain, which deal with multitasking. Therefore, learning a new language makes children better at multitasking, which is very crucial in today’s fast life. Lastly, it is proven fact that learning is much easier while the brain is still in developing stages, because it can be re-wired easily. Hence, children can learn a new language at an early age without putting in too much effort.

In conclusion, it is clear that learning a new language at an early age is not only relatively easy, but also assists in development of the brain. Thus, I am of the opinion that children should be taught a new language at an early age.