In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

People nowadays aloof at reading newspapers or watching the news on TV. This certainly not a positive trend unless they are finding news from different other sources such as the internet and social media. In this essay, I will put my opinion on why this trend is increasing day by day.

At the outset, there are multifarious reasons that people are away from reading newspapers and watching TV. One of the most conspicuous reason lies in the fact that the easy access to the internet and browse as per one's interests whether it is news, music or something else. Furthermore, the striking use of social media is easing the way people reaching out to the news and current trends. For example, I myself in Australia do not watch Nepalese TV or read Nepalese newspaper, however, I can easily find the current news on Facebook, Twitter and BBC.

In another side of the fence, I believe that many young people nowadays are health conscious and hence get little time to read on such long boring papers instead spend time with friends playing outdoor sports or go for fitness programs. Young people would have listened to the news on TV or read newspapers if they have less stressful life and spare time with them. Certainly, because of intensive job competition, career development and other hectic future plans have merely given the time for those people to sit down on a chair listen or read to the news.

To put into a nutshell, whilst listening and reading the news is undoubtedly a good habit, but it requires extensive spare time which young people nowadays have hardly make.