Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

These days social networking sites play a pivotal role in our life, and many people and business rely on social media for chatting to business promotion. On the flip-side, it brings negative outcomes to people's lives. In this essay, I shall shed a light on both aspects of social networking sites and state my own opinion.

The social media helps to connect with colleague and family even you are far from them. These days Facebook, Twitter, and Google plus seem to be helpful sites to keep in touch with the loved one. Another valuable result of such sites is to grow a professional career. There are a number of websites that help to connect with someone with similar background and professional job. People can share their ideas, passion, and sometimes they can even find their dream job easily. LinkedIn.com, Stackoverflow.com, and Youtube.com are well known social networking sites for graduates to professional persons to promotes themselves and their businesses.

However, we should not turn a blind eye to the expected undesirable outcome which is its negative usage. It is easy to spread scams and unnecessary advertisements using social media which may harm both individuals and society. There are a lot of cases where social networking sites have been proved to be harmful, for example, exposing people's personal life to the world, pirating someone's work to the world, running a fake virtual company, and stealing people's personal details.

I would, therefore, argue that although social networking sites have a negative impact by its misuse to people lives, these are outweighed by the advantages. Responsible parties and the government should enforce strong web policy to address such issues so everyone could take advantages of social networking sites.