Marketing strategy for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this can impact on their reputation.

Various marketing strategies have to be utilised in order to augment the profits of a business. These marketing strategies depend largely on the customer base and the goods and services sold. Many businesses consider offering discounts a superior way to amplify sales. Offering discounts to customers, in a business, can either be positive or negative in terms of company’s affluent status.

However it will boost company’s sale and popularity albeit at a cost of less benefit, but it may bring downfall in company’s reputation as they buyers may doubt at the quality of products and can create a negative perception in their minds. Apart from this, it will elude customers to neglect items at market value and they will always demand discounts causing further degradation in the company.

At the highest level, discounting makes sense from a marketing and sales perspective, especially when companies are in a slump and they wish to attract a slew of new customers to save their economy. It will decline customer’s trust on the company and can it even lose old regular customers who bought same items on market value before the company announced a discount.

It is not an easy task deciding if offering discounts in a business is a good choice or a bad one. However, a business needs to consider these factors closely in order to run it successfully and profitably. Discounts can be offered on certain days once a year on certain selected items just to replenish the stock.