Put the examination at the end of the semester or separated small tests throughout the entire semester, which one is better?

Every institute has their own methodology of testing students for the course that has been taught. Some prefer one time examination at the end of the semester while others prefer regular tests conducted throughout the semester.

This essay will discuss how frequent tests during the semester is better than one exam at the end of semester.

To begin with, a subject has several topics including many concepts. If students are tested for these concepts regularly it will help them to get retain it for a longer period of time. For instance, subjects such as physics and chemistry involves many concepts, which can be forgotten in case of examination held once only. Therefore, for concepts to be retained for a longer period of time regular tests are to be conducted.

Secondly, one time examination gives unrealistic assesment of students. Some students, who study only at the end of semester might end up getting good marks as many concepts are excluded in the examination. For example, while studying at university I was unable to get good marks in comparision to other students although I had better concepts because they many topics did not come in the exam. Hence, one time examination was not better.

In conclusion, regular tests help retain many concepts as well as gives realistic assesment of the students. In my opinion, tests conducted on regular basis are better than examination held at the end of semester only.