Put the examination at the end of the semester or separated small tests throughout the entire semester, which one is better?

Every institute has their own methodology of testing students for the course that have been taught. Some prefer one time examination at the end of the semester while others prefer regular tests conducted throughout the semester. This essay will discuss how frequent tests held during the semester is better than a single exam at the end of semester.

To begin with, a subject has several topics including many concepts. If students are tested for these concepts on regular basis it will help them to retain it for a longer time. For instance, subjects such as physics and chemistry involves many concepts, which can be forgotten, if exams are held one time only.Therefore, for concepts to be retained regular tests are mandatory.

Secondly, one time examination gives unrealistic assessment of students. Some students, who study only at the end of semester might end up getting good marks as questions in exam might not cover all concepts. For example, while studying at university I was unable to get good marks in comparison to other students even though I had better concepts than them because many topics did not come in the exam. Hence, one time examination does not asses students appropriately.

In conclusion, regular tests help retain many concepts for a long time as well as gives realistic assessment of the students. In my opinion, tests conducted on regular basis are better than examination held at the end of semester only.