Should english be considered a global language?

English language undoubtedly has a huge significance in today’s world. Therefore, many people are of the opinion that English should be considered as a global language. However, there are others who think otherwise.

In today’s world of smart devices, learning new language is not essential. Various devices now have the capability to translate different regional languages to English. Hence, the importance of English learning is slowly declining. Furthermore, in various developed countries like China, English is not an official language. Such countries are even promoting their regional languages. Thus, English is not must for everyone to grow.

Although, devices are helping to work a way around the English language, it cannot be completely ignored. In the present world, smart devices and internet have become an inseparable part of our daily life. Not only the 90 percent of content on the internet is in English, but also the software program that resides in smart devices is in English. It also is the main mode of communication used in the majority of the schools and universities. Furthermore, English is penetrating even more in the remote areas through Hollywood and various other means, which is increasing its influence across the world.

In conclusion, it is clear that although, various other languages are prevalent, it is inevitable to avoid English language and therefore, should it be considered as a global language.