Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

Recently, the phenomenon of developing the public transportation or constructing more roads and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although public transport is beneficial as it is regarded by the substantial number of individuals both constructive and positive, others hold opponent views. I am inclined to believe that this issue can be plus as it could develop some brilliant aspects for its adherents.

From a social standpoint, expanding the public transport systems can provide the society with noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact of development. From my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the advantages of developing public transport. Firstly, this type of transportation diminish the traffic congestion which is the main cause of declining the amount of carbon dioxide emission and air pollution. Furthermore, public transportation is cheaper and more safety than the personal vehicles which leads to decreasing the number of car accidents.Hence, the public transport saves a considerable amount of time and money annually which is one of the paramount elements in the economic growth.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the idea of investing and developing the public transportation in big cities including subways, monorails and buses insteading of new roads has some opponents. According to research undertaken by a prestigious world-renowned university, loads of inhabitatnts much prefer to utilize their own cars. They asserted that the own vehicles are more comfortable and convenient and they need more new roads and streets to drive.

In conclusion, while there are different compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the merits of expanding the public transportation insteading building roads for vehicles are far more outweigh their demerits.